Guru Question on Jon Martin? | FinHeaven - Miami Dolphins Forums

Guru Question on Jon Martin?

So Be

Club Member
Reaction score
I have some pretty fair knowledge on the top two rounds of talent but, am far from a guru. IF you graded and ranked Jon Martin based on what you have seen of him in Miami, and DO NOT include Bully Gate, how you rank and compare him to this year's OT's available in the draft?

I believe he would come out pretty high but again, am not overly familiar with the other OT's.

In a lot of ways he was a steal at the time, but there were a lot of questions about whether or not he'd be a LT.

I thought it was good value, but after all the bully issues I went back and watched some Stanford stuff of him. He for sure needed to get stronger, but he was also heavily protected by an offense loaded with NFL players in a scheme that gave him a lot help in the blocking scheme

i wasn't much of a fan of his coming out cause i thought he was too soft and didnt have high end feet...upper body strength problems showed ugly...3rd round at least in any class is how i would grade him...definitely not in the first 2 days of the draft would i have pulled the trigger though...

probably would have steered away...

Honestly, I'd put a late round grade on him as an OT but might like him better at guard.

In the run up to the draft, I had heard that Martin needed to get stronger but that he was a finesse guy with good feet. That was a bad read.

This is a kid with bad feet and who is also weak. He obviously got way over-drafted and he was a bad pick, or do I mean prick. His physical skills scream day 3 pick somewhere, and that's not even taking into account his poor mental makeup. Ireland got a couple of 5th round talents on DAY 2 that year when you are talking about Martin and Egnew who were each drafted 2-3 rounds early.

I'm still studying this year's draftees, but Martin has to be behind at least a dozen guys. It's a pretty deep tackle draft.