Just my thoughts on the upcoming off-season | FinHeaven - Miami Dolphins Forums

Just my thoughts on the upcoming off-season

23EmilioVasquez

Seasoned Veteran
Reaction score
As our season came to an end today I thought I should sit down and look at what our options are for this off-season. I am not an expert and will not sit here and act like I believe I have all the answers to fix this team. I am just talking about thing I would like to see happen. I will not list any crazy trades or ridiculous free-agent signings.

Re-signing our own

In my opinion we have four key free agents this year and yet none of them had what you would call an elite season.

Randy Starks (MIA) - DT - Starks has played everywhere from DE to NT for the Dolphins effectively over the past few seasons keeping our run-stopping base of Starks and Paul Soliai together is very important. Of our four big name free agents he has been the most consistent. Therefore I think he is most deserving of a contract extension. I am confident if Starks is allowed to Walk Odrick will slide into his spot and we will look to find more of a pass rusher at DE opposite of Wake. I want to resign Starks stillbut if not able to I think the best thing we can do is franchise tag him and trade him for whatever we can get and keeping him out of the AFC East.

Reggie Bush (MIA) Bush is the best offensive weapon for the Dolphins as a runner that has now shown the capabilities of runningbetween the tackles and adding tremendous value as an outlet out of the backfield. Re-Signing our best Offensive Weapon on our teamis pretty good idea. I don't believe he will be that expensive so resigning him should not be to difficult.