Miami is $7.1 Million Under the Cap Right Now | FinHeaven - Miami Dolphins Forums

Miami is $7.1 Million Under the Cap Right Now

Just let it rollover to the offseason. No point spending anymore, we are what we are, and we'll need an offseason to add more.

And if it was a dollar or $20M, it would mean nothing.

Just let it rollover to the offseason. No point spending anymore, we are what we are, and we'll need an offseason to add more.

I'm not a salary cap expert, but how does that work? I was under the impression that they changed the rules for that recently to allow a limited amount to carry over?

Due to expiring contracts, we will have over $50M to spend, without any carry over. The question is not money but, what we will do with it.

I'm no cap expert but it seems every year were around the same amount but really have very little talent to show for it while somebody like the Eagles has over 20 mill in space. Is this because we have so much dead cap space or what? Is it going to get to a point where we will have to gut almost any high dollar contract and start from scratch? I remember a few years ago the 49ers were in cap hell and they gutted the thing and now seems to be on the right track. I keep reading that were going to have a lot of cap space next year but we also have people like Bush, Sean Smith, Starks, Hartline and Jake Long to re-sign which will eat into a lot of that extra money. Maybe I'm wrong but I think all these misses in FA and even draft has hurt our Cap situation because of all of the dead money we carry over year after year. Anybody with knowledge that wants to chime in would be great.

Due to expiring contracts, we will have over $50M to spend, without any carry over. The question is not money but, what we will do with it.

This is true, 13 mil will go to Jake. Reggie Bush is another contract that will need to be looked at. I dont know who the others are, maybe Fasano?