Milliner, Banks, and Rhodes: A Metrics Breakdown | FinHeaven - Miami Dolphins Forums

Milliner, Banks, and Rhodes: A Metrics Breakdown

NUGap

Active Roster
Reaction score
Regardless of whether Sean Smith re-signs, the Dolphins need a cornerback. The question is, do we want that CB in the first round? Personally, I'm on board for that, but to each their own. This is my first time charting CBs, so I'm more unsure about what's relevant statistically and what's not. I did my best to parse out the important things and there's a lot more charts on the site to check out if you want more.

As a note, unlike WRs where I note only when they are targeted, I’ve charted a variety of factors on each and every snap when it comes to CBs. Thus, I used a 4 game sample, which is normally smaller than I’d like. However, I’m still happy with the sample and think it gets a good representation of these corners. Enjoy!

Where Were They Targeted?

These are the locations in which the cornerbacks were targeted. That is, it includes all outcomes such as completions, pass interference, deflections, etc.

• All of the CBs were challenged in the 1-5 yard zone a plurality of the time. Nearly 50% of Banks’ targets came within a short distance of the LOS. Similarly Milliner’s 33% and Rhodes 43% are very high. This high percentage is likely due to shorter routes, including swing passes out of the backfield into their zones.
  • Less of Milliner’s targets came in the shorter zones, instead 50% of his targets came in the intermediate zones of 6-20 yards.
  • Xavier Rhodes was challenged deep most often with 19% of his total targets coming back 20 yards. This could either be indicative of the coverage FSU was playing or that quarterbacks often felt that Rhodes was vulnerable deep.

What Happened After They Were Targeted?