Soliai looking forward to facing Mawae | FinHeaven - Miami Dolphins Forums

Soliai looking forward to facing Mawae

FinAtic8480

Active Roster
Reaction score
As if the Miami Dolphins defense didn't have enough run game issues to worry about for Sunday's game, it's not wise to ignore the contributions of Titans center Kevin Mawae, a seven-time Pro Bowl selection.

It's Mawae who orchestrates Tennessee's dominate front line, which has allowed only 12 sacks this season, and paves the way for 165.3 rushing yards per game, which is ranked second in the NFL.

Paul Soliai, who will be starting his fourth game as Jason Ferguson's replacement at nose tackle, openly puts his team's success against Tennessee's running game on his shoulders. He knows the Titans will likely try to exploit his inexperience with Mawae's savvy moves.

"This is my first year starting, and it's his 15th year. He's got a lot of veteran moves. The coaches bring his experience up to me a lot, but it really doesn't matter. A center's a center," said Soliai, who has contributed a career-high 19 tackles, deflected one pass, and forced one fumble this season, his third in the NFL.

"I've been watching film of Mawae and all he does is single block people. I hope he gives me the same [approach]," Soliai said. "If [the opponent] runs the ball well it's my fault, especially if they run it up the middle."

Everyone keeps mentioning CJ and VY, but Mawae scares me. The guy is one at the best at we he does. The good thing he is worn down & is playing with a bad back. This could benefit Soliai. This will be a real good week to judge Soliai as our future NT.

Paul has really done a 180 in my eyes. He was so dissapointing but has really seemed to pull it together this season. I'm sure Ferg has played a big part in that and I think he will be our starter for years to come. They need to get a good backup to spell him but I like the way he is playing right now.