Stupid Football Stat Question Regarding First Downs

Discussion in 'Miami Dolphins Forum' started by nyashfan, Nov 28, 2013.

  1. nyashfan

    nyashfan For Earth Below

    Joined:
    Mar 2006
    Messages:
    1,173
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Yes, I am aware that this question is essentially irrelevant. You could say that it came to me in a bad dream last night concerning all this talk about the importance of rushing attempts and first downs.

    Question - if a team scores a touchdown on offense outside of a goal-to-go distance, does the team get credited with a first down as well--en passant, so to speak? I am 99.9% sure that the answer is 'no', although logic seems to dictate that the answer should be 'yes'.

    If a runner were tackled at the one yard line, the team would be credited with a first down because a) the required yardage was attained and b) the down reverted back to first down.

    It seems that the down reverting back to first supersedes the attainment of the required yardage. Perhaps this is required as first downs attained via penalty do not require that the necessary yardage be attained e.g. defensive holding.

    For those compiling statistics and doing analysis, however, it seems silly and inconsistent not to reward a team with a first down on a play that attains the necessary yardage only because it results in a touchdown rather than being stopped on the one yard line.

    Don't worry. I won't be drafting a petition to send to the rules committee.

    But if anyone felt that assigning a first down in such situations was logical and consistent with what first down statistics are designed to measure, I'd be curious to hear others' opinions.

    "Honey, I need a refill on my glass of wine..."
     
  2. MartinTheSNAKE

    MartinTheSNAKE Seasoned Veteran Donator

    Joined:
    Feb 2006
    Messages:
    1,254
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Interesting question. I dont know the answer. Im curious as well.

    Free bump.
     
  3. J. David Wannyheimer

    J. David Wannyheimer 5 Years of Posting Excellence. Finheaven VIP Donator

    Joined:
    Sep 2011
    Messages:
    24,310
    Likes Received:
    1,225
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I just looked this up and while nobody seems to be completely certain on the internet about it, apparently you are credited with a first down if you score a touchdown in the National Football League.
     
  4. rent this space

    rent this space Starter Finheaven VIP

    Joined:
    Apr 2007
    Messages:
    5,512
    Likes Received:
    105
    Trophy Points:
    63
    They don't receive a new set of downs so I would guess no, they don't
     
  5. nyashfan

    nyashfan For Earth Below

    Joined:
    Mar 2006
    Messages:
    1,173
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Thanks for your help. I couldn't find a definitive answer myself when searching the internet.

    It was weird that this question suddenly dawned upon me. And after so many years of watching football, I couldn't recall this idiosyncracy ever being discussed. I felt that I should've known the answer, and it bothered me that I didn't!
     
  6. Dolfan4life!

    Dolfan4life! A True Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 2005
    Messages:
    2,427
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't have a source but I am 99.9% sure the answer is yes. Any offensive play resulting in a TD (even those in a goal-to-go suituation) also count as a 1st down gained.
     
  7. flynryan15

    flynryan15 FinHeaven VIP Finheaven VIP

    Joined:
    Jan 2009
    Messages:
    14,164
    Likes Received:
    262
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Enter shouright in 5....4....3.....2......1
     
  8. cowboy82nd

    cowboy82nd Starter

    Joined:
    May 2005
    Messages:
    881
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    No, that's not correct. You need to get a first down to be credited for a first down. If you get the ball at your own one and on the first play you go 99 yards for a touchdown, you do not get credit for any first downs.
     
  9. nyashfan

    nyashfan For Earth Below

    Joined:
    Mar 2006
    Messages:
    1,173
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    That was my initial belief. It seems inconsistent based upon what the first down statistic is designed to measure.


     
  10. J. David Wannyheimer

    J. David Wannyheimer 5 Years of Posting Excellence. Finheaven VIP Donator

    Joined:
    Sep 2011
    Messages:
    24,310
    Likes Received:
    1,225
    Trophy Points:
    113
    The only definitive answer I've seen on this comes from the 1947 (!) NFL rulebook, and it says that you indeed do get a first down for a touchdown. Don't have anything more recent and I'm too lazy to keep looking today. Sorry. :)
     
  11. Shouright

    Shouright Banned Hammered

    Joined:
    May 2004
    Messages:
    15,064
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Take a look at the first downs being credited to New Orleans in this clip:

    [video=youtube;ItwmbKJwDOM]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ItwmbKJwDOM[/video]
     
  12. Finland

    Finland Pro Bowler

    Joined:
    Nov 2004
    Messages:
    3,701
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    38
    The question is what down is it on an extra point perhaps.
     
  13. ATL_PHIN_FAN

    ATL_PHIN_FAN Winner Under Construction

    Joined:
    Jul 2012
    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Great find Shou! Yep, the TDs counted as 1st downs.
     
  14. nyashfan

    nyashfan For Earth Below

    Joined:
    Mar 2006
    Messages:
    1,173
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    If I heard correctly from that video, then the 1947 rulebook is still in effect!!! The offense is credited with a 1st down anytime it scores a touchdown, even when the distance is goal-to-go. Awesome!!! I had no idea!!!

    So for the Dolphins to claim the record all they need to do is instruct their offensive playmakers to intentionally step out of bounds at the 1 yard line after all of their huge gainers. Then their short yardage specialist running back can punch it in for the touchdown!!!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 28, 2013
  15. Dthrill_08

    Dthrill_08 A True Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 2011
    Messages:
    1,173
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I remember seeing the Saints highlight when they got 41 firstdowns and I can't recall any of them being a TD.
     

Share This Page