August 7, 2005- What it means! | FinHeaven - Miami Dolphins Forums

August 7, 2005- What it means!

Y-TownPhinVet

35 years and counting
Reaction score
This past Sunday, Canton Ohio was invaded by Dolphin Fans from everywhere. My son and I were there and met many fellow fans from New York to Iowa to the UK. I personnally, was almost speechless the whole time because of my amazement of what I was seeing from the very beginning. Chris (age 17) and I arrived at about 9:30 am at the Hall of Fame.
From that point on, I saw history that I may never see again in my lifetime and my son my NEVER see it again in his.

Dan Marino and Don Shula will forever be immortalized in Dolphins history. There are other great members of the Hall that represent the Dolphins, and are very deserving. But Sunday, August 7, 2005, was an event like no other I have seen. I'm a war vet, and still kickin, I've seen Pink Floyd twice in concert (among a 100 other bands), but Sunday was a once in a lifetime memory that will always stand at the top of my "I was there" list. My son, who wasn't even born till 1988, will never, ever forget that day!

Even if you weren't in Canton on Sunday, I know that you watched it all and were as choked up as everyone else. As a Dolphin fan born and raised in between Browns and Steelers country, I was never more proud to be a Dolphin fan than this past Sunday, and now my son understands why. Of the almost 22,000 people on hand, I'd guess that 20,000 were Dolfans! And Millions more watched it live on TV.

I would also like to thank NYFINFAN72 and his wife, he kept his word and carried the FinHeaven sign with pride, and I was honored to meet both of them, as well as many other Finheaven members.