Miami Dolphins' Practice Report | FinHeaven - Miami Dolphins Forums

Miami Dolphins' Practice Report

Geforce

FinHeaven VIP
Reaction score
Miami Dolphins' second open OTA's practice

-- "We thought he was decisive in the way he plays the game," Philbin said of Dannell Ellerbe.

-- "He's a big guy. Catches the ball with his hands well. He's an intriguing prospect," Philbin said of new WR Courtney Gardner.

-- Because the defense got the best of the offense today Joe Philbin joked that "I'm a defensive coach today."

-- "He moves around like a football player," Philbin said of Kelcie McCray. "His play speed has been increasing. Some rust needs to come off."

-- "He's a real pro," Philbin said of Dustin Keller. "That's one thing that really was a pleasant surprise for the coaching staff."

-- Philbin said blitz pickup and route running will be the way the tailbacks are evaluating other than running the ball.

-- Philbin said he expects the RB competition to be fierce, but team hasn't gotten to the point they are rotating.

-- "Clearly we would like to practice a little faster," Philbin said of the practice pace.

-- "He's a good ball catcher. He catches the ball in his hands well and he went after the ball," Philbin said of Brandon Gibson.

-- "I like the way he plays. I always have," Joe Philbin said of Brent Grimes game.

-- Philbin said Brent Grimes "had excellent instincts and competitiveness....he plays bigger than his size."

-- Joe Philbin said today was the red zone day. They were teaching them the new scoring plays.

-- "At the end of the day depending on how you did you'll be where you need to be as far as the depth chart," Will Davis said.

-- "No doubt about that. I definitely would have been a first rounder," Courtney Gardner said. He claims he runs a 4.51 at 225 pounds.

read the rest at
http://www.sun-sentinel.com/sports/...en-ota-practice-20130529,0,4436207,full.story

http://www.sun-sentinel.com/sports/...en-ota-practice-20130529,0,4436207,full.story