Sad we didn't get TO? Think again: | FinHeaven - Miami Dolphins Forums

Sad we didn't get TO? Think again:

touborg

Board Linebacker
Reaction score
**Staff Edit: Please provide a link. We cannot post entire articles. And we're not about to start searching for the link. Thanks**

Owens irked by trade to Ravens

HE'S SEEKING ESCAPE FROM BALTIMORE, VOWING, `I'M GOING TO STAND MY GROUND'

By Daniel Brown

Mercury News

Terrell Owens' penchant for controversy arrived in Baltimore before he did.

A day after the 49ers traded the talented, tempestuous wide receiver to the Baltimore Ravens, Owens indicated Friday that he has no plans to report to his new employer. The four-time Pro Bowl player is angry that a proposed trade to the Philadelphia Eagles fell through, and he implied he would rather fight the trade than put on a Ravens uniform.

``Terrell Owens is kind of unemployed at the moment,'' Owens said on Fox Sports Net's ``Best Damn Sports Show.''

49ers General Manager Terry Donahue acknowledged Friday that he talked with the Eagles about a trade but said the Ravens were in the driver's seat for Owens from the start because they offered the highest draft pick (51st overall). Donahue said he never considered the Eagles' best offer of receiver James Thrash and a fifth-round pick and called the ensuing controversy ``laughable.''

Owens, continuing a longstanding trend, has a different view than the 49ers. On the ``Best Damn Sports Show,'' he said he was ``shocked'' to be sent to Baltimore and said he expressed his reluctance to Ravens General Manager Ozzie Newsome.

``I've talked to Ozzie a few times the last couple of days. Honestly, I didn't feel comfortable with our conversation,'' Owens said. ``He knows I'm not happy with the situation. I'm going to stand my ground and see if we can't get something resolved.''

He later added: ``I don't want to go anywhere where someone just trades me off to. I feel like I'm entitled as a free agent to have my choice.''