Why We _ Itch After Losses | FinHeaven - Miami Dolphins Forums

Why We _ Itch After Losses

FinFan57

Practice Squad
Reaction score
As a psychologist, I want to remind everyone on the board that venting is a very natural thing we should all do when we feel exasperated. Most of us on this board feel very passionate about our Dolphins, and we get very upset when they lose or play badly. I think it is particularly difficult when you consider the vaunted history of the Dolphins. There is NO team in the NFL like the Dolphins.

The Packers have Vince Lombardi, but we have Shula, who is the winningest coach of all time. The 49'ers have Montana and the Broncos have Elway, but we have the greatest QB of all time, at least statistically. We are the ONLY team to ever have a perfect season, and we are the winningest NFL team of all time in the modern era. There is such pride attached to being a fan of this team that it hurts deeply to watch this team deteriorate, as it did under Dave Wannstedt. Unfortunately, it will take some time for the stench to blow away and each Sunday we lose; it reminds us of that fact.

For the fans of this board who hate to read the "negative" stuff, you are either unconcerned or repressing your true feelings. How can you be anything but frustrated by the way we have played lately? I agree.....we don't need to trade everyone and fire all the coaches, but venting is often irrational and impractical. We just have to blow off some smoke and let our anger out. By Sunday, we are ready to watch another game, but most of us long for the days when this franchise was special, and we were proud to call ourselves Dolfans. Here's to the quick return of those glory days.