First half evaluation | FinHeaven - Miami Dolphins Forums

First half evaluation

bastid

Starter
Reaction score
Im just an arm chair coach like most of you, but wanted to share some things that i saw positive and negative during the first half. Unfortunately I couldn't catch the 2nd half.

Positives:
Henne looked like a completely different QB out there. His pocket awareness was great and some of his reads were great too. Some times a lil to safe but that is OK. Took a few shots down the field, probably took more shots downfield in this game then he did all of last year. What I did like though is i saw him audible a couple times and that jumped out at me. I can't recall a time last year that he audibled anything. And if i remember correctly he wasn't allowed to audible at the line because of Henning. They were in a shotgun formation and he audibles and comes under center and completes a big play. I can see a big step in the right direction from last year.

Reggie Bush was a maniac out there. Whether he was running or catching out of the backfield, the man was playing with a chip on his shoulder. You could tell he came to play. People say that he dances too much but thats Reggie. Id rather him dance than run straight forward into a wall. He creates a mismatch with LBs. He also looked solid in the blocking aspect too.

Marshall is a monster. Simply put as that. I love the fight in him. Catches the ball and immediately tries to make the first man miss. I would like to see him run more deep routes rather than these 5-10 yd comeback routes.

Bess looks like a RB out there this year. Dude has been in the gym and you can tell it. His hands are still golden.

Gates has the speed of a Ted Ginn and he doesn't have hands made of concrete. I have a feeling this kid will surprise alot this year. Some people have questioned Hennes accuracy on those deep passes. It could be better, but thats the QBs job to throw it out there and let the WR run up under it. Reps will fix that.