A thought on Mare | FinHeaven - Miami Dolphins Forums

A thought on Mare

calmlikeabomb

Starter
Reaction score
With what's-his-name (sorry, I've decided I'd rather not type his name anymore ;) ) gone, I have a feeling that Olindo is once again going to be an essential part of this team, as he was in 2000 and 2001.

One thing I kept thinking last year was how Mare seemed to be much stronger on his kickoffs. But, everytime I watched him kickoff for another touchback, I wondered if his FG accuracy wasn't somehow suffering as a result of his work on his kickoffs.

Then again, I'm no kicking expert. The increase in his kickoff distance could have nothing at all to do with his FG% decrease. All I know is that there is a good chance that Mare will once again have to be a major contributor to this team, and I would really like to see him hitting close to 90% of his FGs again.

I think Mare's best days are long behind him. The guy is one of the highest paid kickers in the entire league but he hasn't preformed like it. He needs to play well in 2004

How hard can it be to be a kicker in the NFL? How many plays are you involved in in a game? Please don't tell me you think his kickoffs are "tiring him out" for his field goals. That has got to be the dumbest theory EVER floated.

4-6 kickoffs a game, 4-6 FG's PAT's. OK - this is the Dolphins - 1-2 FG's and maybe 1 PAT if we are lucky.

Sounds like the easiest job on planet earth to me. All you have to do is kick a ball 70 yards down the middle, and make sure it goes through the upright from up to 55 yards away. Count me in! Easiest job on planet earth.

Oh, and top that off with the fact that they aren't real athletes. When have you ever read anything about a kickers conditioning.

Peyton Manning was right - he has enough to worry about without his "idiot kicker" spouting off at the mouth about their team. Kickers just need to shut the hell up and kick the damn ball.

Ridiculous thread here.