Assessment of Offense | FinHeaven - Miami Dolphins Forums

Assessment of Offense

PhinsPhan122

Ted Hill
Reaction score
QB's - Three or four games is not enough to evaluate long term ability, especially when the surrounding players haven't executed to the best of their abilites. We need to continue to look at Joey and Daunte, chances are one of them is our long term answer. Cleo Lemon is a work in progress and should not be the starter.

RB's - Ronnie Brown is a solid back and everyone else isn't. In this league you need two solid backs. They don't have to be great, just solid. I think we should invest an early round draft pick (day one) or trade for a better answer for a number two back (preferably someone with a different style than Ronnie). There is also the idea of drafting a RB top ten and using a more two-back set or moving Ronnie to number two on the depth chart.

FB - Im no expert, but I'm not sold on Darian Barnes. We need to look elsewhere. The lead-blocker is crucial in running the Power-I, especially when we don't run too many creative rushing plays.

OL - Another area where I'm no expert. The line has showed improvement this year, but there is still room for growth. Run blocking hasn't been good and pass blocking has been better but still inconsistent. If the Dolphins end up with a high draft pick, I like the idea that the Jets used last year in trading down and getting two stud lineman late in round one.

TE's - For all those that say it's time to part ways with McMichael (myself inculded), it probably won't happen. If I remember correctly, we gave him a big long contract recently. He is a good player, he just needs to sure up his hands. The other guys looked good in preseason (especially Peele) but it's hard to evaluate with a lot of game experience.