Defensive Back Athleticism Ratings | FinHeaven - Miami Dolphins Forums

Defensive Back Athleticism Ratings

ckparrothead

Premium Member
Reaction score
Hey guys just wanted to say that I crunched the numbers in ways that numbers should not be crunched (I'm an equity analyst, I'm use to it) and I've come up with some overall "athletic ratings" for the defensive backs unit.

I will say that there are 12 major factors going into this rating. Those factors are: Height, Weight, Bench Press, Vertical, Broad Jump, 10 yard split, 20 yard split, 40 yard split, Short Shuttle, Long Shuttle, 3 Cone Drill, and Participation. I did weight some figures, but my weightings are extremely modest...which makes each player's relative standing in each of the 12 categories nearly equal with each other in the construction of the rating. I gave SLIGHTLY extra weight to vertical jump, broad jump, 20-yard split, and 3-cone drill times.

For math wizards, I crunched the differences in the numbers until I came up with normalized, relative figures for each stat (for instance, player X's height divided by median group height). By normalized, what I mean is that once I got a column of relative stats, I adjusted the formulas until the standard deviation of each overall attribute column was approximately 6.1%. This all avoids skewness in any one direction because of the large differences in any one stat. For instance, the difference between a 1.55 10-yard split and 1.70 10-yard split is actually quite huge, but if you just stuffed it into the same equation with the difference between a 220 pound guy and 200 pound guy, without normalizing, a difference of 1 pound would negate the wide difference of the 10-yard split times.