Non TD for Lions | Page 2 | FinHeaven - Miami Dolphins Forums

Non TD for Lions

It was the correct call, that is the rule. The same thing happened against you guys in '02 on the Chmabers TD against us on that Sunday Night. You have to maintain complete possession after you hit the ground, if the ball moves an inch it's incomplete. It may not be the best rule but it is a rule and it was called correctly.

Calvin hit the ground with both feet, then his knee, his full @ss and had full control of the bal!! Lions just got robbed there, and there's no doubt about it.
However if you see it at normal speed you may have the doubt yes, but at slow speed i think there's no doubt he had control.
 
Calvin hit the ground with both feet, then his knee, his full @ss and had full control of the bal!! Lions just got robbed there, and there's no doubt about it.
However if you see it at normal speed you may have the doubt yes, but at slow speed i think there's no doubt he had control.

He has to complete the atch when he goes to the ground, when he went to the ground he used the ball to brace himself for some reason and it squirted free. I don't love the rule but it was the correct call.
 
According to the rule book, its the correct call. But something has to be done about because to any one watching that play will tell it was a catch. He maintained possession of the ball and his leg hit the ground while he still had possession of the ball. That should be the end of it right there for me
 
Can someone please explain why TD not given. Every year the officiating seems to get worse this was reviewed and still not given. I know it is harsh but do we need to sack some of the officiating teams to get them back to reality.

For once I agree with nyjunc.

Let me explain the rule as clearly and simply as I can: the WR has to hold on to the ball until the momentum of his fall ends.

Example: a guy catches a ball falls to the ground and rolls 8 times. If he loses the ball on the the 7th roll while he's trying to spring to his feet, it's not a catch.

In this case, CJ clearly tried to use the momentum from his fall to spring back up (a bit like a guy hitting the ground and somersaulting back up) and lost the ball in the process.

I loled at what Pereira had to say about it today:

"This is gonna happen 15 more time this year," Pereira said. "Maybe this play on top of the big play last year -- maybe this tips the scale." Though he expressed concern that it may be too difficult to improve a complicated rule, he recognized that "50 guys in a bar" would likely conclude the Johnson play should have been ruled a touchdown.
 
Back
Top Bottom