Rodgers To Saints? | FinHeaven - Miami Dolphins Forums

Rodgers To Saints?

DENVERDOLFAN

Starter
Reaction score
Among the players that are expected to be let go are Denver quarterback Brian Griese, 49ers receiver J.J. Stokes and Dolphins linebacker Derrick Rodgers, although the Saints and Dolphins are discussing a trade for Rodgers.

This according to our buddy Pete Prisco.

why would the saints trade for a guy that will be released in a week ? maybe they feel someone will overpay for him....:eek:

He was just kidding and it was only a dream type of comment.

Hmm, well I must say it'd be nice to get something in return for Rodgers other than cap space.

At this point all we want or really need after June 1st is Brian Griese, so if we can unload Rodgers before June 1st by trade and still swing Griese, I think we should do it cuz truth be told next year I'm not particularly excited about the prospect of taking a look at a list of our cap charges for the year and finding an entry that says "Derrick Rodgers...left over June 1st charge $600k" or whatever it is. I'd rather have nothing left over next year, and have a late round pick to boot.

As long as we still get Griese, I'm down. I mean, its not like the coaches are gonna sit there and say "Hey, I know by doing this we're seriously jeopardizing our ability to sign Brian Griese after June 1st, but I think if we can get a 7th round pick for Derrick Rodgers I think we should jump on it!"

Dont wanna open a whole new can of worms here, but remember the trade of first round busts we did a while ago?

RB John Avery our 1st round bust, for Marcus Nash the 1st round bust from Denver. Of course neither worked out, but does anyone else think we could pull something similar off with Jamar Fletcher?