What's the deal with baseball? | FinHeaven - Miami Dolphins Forums

What's the deal with baseball?

Gilo45

Thank you Chad P!
Reaction score
Hey

So basically I'm new to baseball, being in the UK guarantees zero coverage, all I see of baseball is kids wearing Yankees hats every now and then.

So I guess what I'm asking is like a brief description of the set up and teams, season structure, notable players anc coaches, a brief history etc.
I just got into the football and dolphins thing, and if baseball is half as good it will be worth watching.

And also, I'm supporting the Marlins. If anyone could give me a brief guide of the players and teams current position would be great as well.

One more thing, anywhere I can watch the games?

:thanks:

Here's all you need to know on Major League Baseball:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Major_League_Baseball
Florida Marlins (soon to be the Miami Marlins):
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Florida_Marlins

Currently, and ever since their inception, the Marlins have played their home games at Dolphin Stadium, but just yesterday finally passed an agreement to build their new baseball stadium on the old Orange Bowl grounds in Little Havana. The project should be done and ready to open in April of 2012 (Opening Day.)

And as far as watching it goes, I think baseball is one of the most exciting sports to see live. The drama is ridiculous and it's really easy to follow, so I suggest you check out the Fish this year. It's looking like we're going to have a pretty good team this season.

Here's a quick lesson:

-started around the 1800's

- Winningest franchise is the New York Yankees with 26 world championships (16 more than the Cardinals whom are second in that catigory).

-Notable current players: Manny Ramirez, Alex Rodriguez, Derek Jeter, Albert Pujos, David Ortiz.

-Notable former players: Babe Ruth, Lou Gehrig, Ted Williams, Willie Mays, Mickey Mantle.

-Regular season games played: 162

As for the Marlins:

-Began play in 1993