Will this injury effect Boston for the rest of his career/life? | Page 3 | FinHeaven - Miami Dolphins Forums

Will this injury effect Boston for the rest of his career/life?

SpitOnSurtain80 said:
Boston is too big for his frame... unless he drops pounds he'll continue to have problems.
I agree with that, most of these type of injuries come from an imbalance of some kind. Being too strong in one area but not strong enough somewhere else. A lot of injuries come from not developing muscles equally in pairs, hamstrings that aren't as strong as quads, etc. He is clearly out of balance, carrying so much mass in his upper body. He makes a game of adding and dropping weight. Sooner or later that had to catch up with him.

An athletic trainer's opinion...

I am an athletic trainer with more than a few years in the business, i have seen two football (college) players completely rupture their patellar tendon.

One tore the tendon up high nearer to the quad, he had surgery and regained his playing status as a wide reciever within one yr. Before the injury he ran a 4.47 40 and had a 35 inch vert. After the surgery and complete rehab he ran a 4.62 40 and lost a few inches of his vertical leap. The thing he had the hardest time doing is cutting - i think more of a mental issue than anything. He also has problems with his overall quad strength, which i dont think david boston will have.