Chris Chambers TouchDown Catch. | Page 5 | FinHeaven - Miami Dolphins Forums

Chris Chambers TouchDown Catch.

Originally posted by 85inthehall
The Dolphins certainly agree. Referee Larry Nemmers determined Chambers got both feet inbounds, but that he bobbled the ball as he fell.


As NFL director of officiating Mike Pereira explained, ''When you are going to the ground, even though two feet hit and an elbow hits, when you hit the ground you have to maintain control of the ball. It's the same at the 50-yard line as it is in the end zone. It's the same inbounds as it is out of bounds. Even though the feet come down first, if the ball comes loose, which it did here, if you don't maintain control of the ball, then it's an incomplete pass.''
GOOD GOD, WHAT IS YOU'RE FRIGGIN PROBLEM, THATS EXACTLY WHAT I SAID, THE RULE BOOK SAID NOTHING ABOUT A DROPPED BALL, IT SAID AFTER POSSESSION IN THE ENDZONE THE BALL WAS DEAD. NOW SHOW ME SOMETHING INSTEAD OF PUTTING YOUR MIND IN NEUTRAL AND RAMBLING ON ABOUT NOTHING!:fire:
 
why do you even think i care what a ref SAID anyway! back in 2000, the ref also called "hit on a defenseless receiver". the rule book is very clear, one man tipping the ball and still hitting the receiver, is a foul. but nowhere in the book does it cover anything about two players, one tipping the ball and another hitting the receiver, they blew that call and according to this rule book, they blew this one too!
 
Originally posted by dolfan06
why do you even think i care what a ref SAID anyway! back in 2000, the ref also called "hit on a defenseless receiver". the rule book is very clear, one man tipping the ball and still hitting the receiver, is a foul. but nowhere in the book does it cover anything about two players, one tipping the ball and another hitting the receiver, they blew that call and according to this rule book, they blew this one too!

dolfan06-7
85inthehall-0
 
06...first off you are reading from a rule book that is a year old. It doesn't pertain to this season. When the DIRECTOR of officiating says it's so, I tend to believe him.
 
Originally posted by booyeah_
dolfan06-7
85inthehall-0

Wait a second, after dolfan06 stepped out of bounds he slightly bobbled the post. Incomplete post.
 
Originally posted by dolfan06
GOOD GOD, WHAT IS YOU'RE FRIGGIN PROBLEM, THATS EXACTLY WHAT I SAID, THE RULE BOOK SAID NOTHING ABOUT A DROPPED BALL, IT SAID AFTER POSSESSION IN THE ENDZONE THE BALL WAS DEAD. NOW SHOW ME SOMETHING INSTEAD OF PUTTING YOUR MIND IN NEUTRAL AND RAMBLING ON ABOUT NOTHING!:fire:

06, what is your point here? Do you think Chambers HAD possesion?
 
Originally posted by Adphinistrator87
06...first off you are reading from a rule book that is a year old. It doesn't pertain to this season. When the DIRECTOR of officiating says it's so, I tend to believe him.

Do you believe he would ever admit a ref was wrong?
 
booyeah, how is the ref wrong? tell me please. To show possesion of a football you must do two things, catch it , and make a football move. Did chambers make a football move? he didn't have TIME to make a move, as he was falling the only option for him AS A RECEIVER was to NOT bobble the ball when he hits the ground.
 
Originally posted by Adphinistrator87
06...first off you are reading from a rule book that is a year old. It doesn't pertain to this season. When the DIRECTOR of officiating says it's so, I tend to believe him.
speak and fear no woman, write and fear no man. i read something, now you show me where i'm wrong.

what is the head official supposed to say, "yeah, we blew it". my son has the new rule book. from year to year there are changes, but i don't recall reading this one. the changes are hi-lited, with the old rule and the change!
 
Originally posted by Adphinistrator87
06, what is your point here? Do you think Chambers HAD possesion?
yes i do, and from then on the ball was dead, who really cares if the ball was dropped!
 
Is the rule that a receiver must catch the ball, and make a football move, before calling it a completion in either book?
 
btw, the head ref said the call in 2000 was correct too. i do have the 2000 rule book that proves the call was wrong!
 
Originally posted by Adphinistrator87
booyeah, how is the ref wrong? tell me please. To show possesion of a football you must do two things, catch it , and make a football move. Did chambers make a football move? he didn't have TIME to make a move, as he was falling the only option for him AS A RECEIVER was to NOT bobble the ball when he hits the ground.

Could you answer my question?
 
Yes I think if he made a totally messed up call he would have to say he blew it. I know from watching football for the last few years, that when a pass is ruled a fumble in the field of play, and the ref goes to review it, if the receiver didn't make a football move, it is ruled an incomplete pass.

I am going to do a serious search for the rules on line, and I will get back on this.
 
look! we can argue about this until the cows come home, but i read what i read and your telling me to believe what somebody said, somebody that blew an important call 2 years ago. now i am going to retrieve that rule book from my son or buy a new one this weekend, probably the latter, since my son lives i arkansas. but until you show me something in writing or i get the new rules, ya might as well be pounding sand up your...................nevermind, but i believe my eyes!
 
Back
Top Bottom