Once and for all, IT WAS A FORWARD PASS! | Page 13 | FinHeaven - Miami Dolphins Forums

Once and for all, IT WAS A FORWARD PASS!

so that makes you right b/c someone else agrees w/ you? he slings it back/to the side around the player. watch the clip. it's pretty damn obvious.

I don't have to watch the clip. I was watching the play as it was happening. There is no right or wrong b/c it wasn't reviewed.

cannot control the emotions of others, I am not here to piss anyone off but I am not going to be a phony either and pretend everything is perfect when it is not. Miami is playing well and can earn their way into the playoffs but that doesn't mean every game is perfect.

You're here to make our lives a living hell. Admit it.

---------- Post added at 01:08 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:06 PM ----------

Yes actually, it does. The fact that other people agree with you just reinforces you opinion and analysis on a subject. Especially when it's after the fact. The only time you are wrong when other people agree with you is when you plan something and it goes wrong.

You've always had issues when a majority of people agree on something that you don't. Best example is the Manningham catch (I think that was his name) in the Super Bowl. Ninety percent of the Nation agreed that it was indeed a catch. But because you said it wasn't a catch meant everybody else, from paid NFL officials, to media analysts to us "average fans," meant we were wrong. Like your analysis of a situation is the be-all, end-all decision on any given subject matter.

Yup. I've purposely withheld talking about the Manningham catch b/c now we'll be talking about it for years. You're right though DS.
 
Live it looked very clearly forward.
After watching the replay I am not so sure. I don't think they reverse it that is for sure. The play should have never happened the wr were moving at the snap, and Ben fumbled.

It brings up a very interesting question. Should Philbin have called timeout? I say No bc it wasn't clear they would get the ball snapped. had there been 3-5 seconds I say YES. The defense was tired up front and disorganized.

Also, did anyone notice how little time came off the clock on Pitt's kick off return before that possession?
 
please show how clear and obvious it was?

Dude, your post with the still pics and the poorly drawn MS Paint line says it all. If you froze it at the moment he thew the ball and you look at the yard marker, which he was standing over, the ball was released before the 33 yard line. Brown catches the ball on the other side of the 33.
 
I don't have to watch the clip. I was watching the play as it was happening. There is no right or wrong b/c it wasn't reviewed.



You're here to make our lives a living hell. Admit it.

---------- Post added at 01:08 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:06 PM ----------



Yup. I've purposely withheld talking about the Manningham catch b/c now we'll be talking about it for years. You're right though DS.

Oh so you were watching as it happened. :lol:

Yes actually, it does. The fact that other people agree with you just reinforces you opinion and analysis on a subject. Especially when it's after the fact. The only time you are wrong when other people agree with you is when you plan something and it goes wrong.

You've always had issues when a majority of people agree on something that you don't. Best example is the Manningham catch (I think that was his name) in the Super Bowl. Ninety percent of the Nation agreed that it was indeed a catch. But because you said it wasn't a catch meant everybody else, from paid NFL officials, to media analysts to us "average fans," meant we were wrong. Like your analysis of a situation is the be-all, end-all decision on any given subject matter.

if others are wrong and agree what does that mean?

99% were wrong, the ball moved when he hit the ground. I even posted the rules word for word from the rulebook. The problem is no one really knows what a catch is, one game it will be called incomplete, the nest it will be complete so it confuses everyone.

---------- Post added at 01:19 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:17 PM ----------

Dude, your post with the still pics and the poorly drawn MS Paint line says it all. If you froze it at the moment he thew the ball and you look at the yard marker, which he was standing over, the ball was released before the 33 yard line. Brown catches the ball on the other side of the 33.

it does say it all, it shows that it most likely was a lateral but we can't tell for sure. go look where the ball is when he throws. ball was thrown after 33, ball was caught after 33, too close to say either way for sure.
 
Oh so you were watching as it happened. :lol:



if others are wrong and agree what does that mean?

99% were wrong, the ball moved when he hit the ground. I even posted the rules word for word from the rulebook. The problem is no one really knows what a catch is, one game it will be called incomplete, the nest it will be complete so it confuses everyone.

---------- Post added at 01:19 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:17 PM ----------



it does say it all, it shows that it most likely was a lateral but we can't tell for sure. go look where the ball is when he throws. ball was thrown after 33, ball was caught after 33, too close to say either way for sure.

I just watched the full motion GIF from page one. He tosses that before the 33. It's not even close. I'm not sure what you're looking at, considering Big Ben lands on the 33 well after the ball is thrown. I always appreciate another view point and I try to be objective as I possibly can from all accounts but in this case you're incorrect.
 
it's not easy, it would have been impossible to change it b/c there isn't any clear evidence it was forward.

You do know it doesn't just have to be clearly backwards... It can be parallel and would still be considered a "backward pass" according to the NFL rulebook. That being the case, what we would be looking for is not just backward but also parrallel, and being a scoring play under 2 minutes would have been reviewed.

for reference: http://www.nfl.com/rulebook/backwardpass
 
you do realize the angles in both of the clips are different, right? and the line is behind where ben releases the ball.


Pretty picky for a guy who drew crooked lines for his illustrations. :lol:

The line is not behind where been releases the ball. It might look that way, but that is becasue Ben's arm is coming back towards his body as he follows through on his throwing motion. The ball is out of his hand at that point. I drew the line straight over the ball which makes it look like it cuts his arm off, but it does not. Here is the shot without the line:

fpia-1.png


The ball is out of his hand at that point and it is behind the second hash mark as the arrow points out. It is clear that the ball is behind the second hash mark. The second photo shows that Brown is clearly in front of the 2nd hash mark:

edn3-1.jpg


That picture is from the exact same camera angle as the first, so that excuse is as silly as those lines you drew. :chuckle: You can watch the clip here and see for yourself:

http://prod.www.steelers.clubs.nfl....Dolphins/4549b729-011a-4914-9460-0d9b16315d22
 
I just watched the full motion GIF from page one. He tosses that before the 33. It's not even close. I'm not sure what you're looking at, considering Big Ben lands on the 33 well after the ball is thrown. I always appreciate another view point and I try to be objective as I possibly can from all accounts but in this case you're incorrect.

watch again, and watch where the ball actually is when he releases it and watch the way he throws it.

---------- Post added at 01:36 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:35 PM ----------

Pretty picky for a guy who drew crooked lines for his illustrations. :lol:

The line is not behind where been releases the ball. It might look that way, but that is becasue Ben's arm is coming back towards his body as he follows through on his throwing motion. The ball is out of his hand at that point. I drew the line straight over the ball which makes it look like it cuts his arm off, but it does not. Here is the shot without the line:

fpia-1.png


The ball is out of his hand at that point and it is behind the second hash mark as the arrow points out. It is clear that the ball is behind the second hash mark. The second photo shows that Brown is clearly in front of the 2nd hash mark:

edn3-1.jpg


That picture is from the exact same camera angle as the first, so that excuse is as silly as those lines you drew. :chuckle: You can watch the clip here and see for yourself:

http://prod.www.steelers.clubs.nfl....Dolphins/4549b729-011a-4914-9460-0d9b16315d22

my lines were not crooked, the angle is different in the different images which you guys fail to notice.
 
watch again, and watch where the ball actually is when he releases it and watch the way he throws it.

---------- Post added at 01:36 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:35 PM ----------


my lines were not crooked, the angle is different in the different images which you guys fail to notice.

:lol2: You are wrong.
2vafpdi-1.jpg


Notice how your line starts behind the second hash mark at the bottom of the picture (which is where Ben released the ball) BUT your line magically moves in front of the second hash mark that is on the top of the screen. Your line is not even close to being straight. You can even look at the 35 yardline and see the difference in space between your line grow from the top of the screen to the bottom.

Plus in your picture Brown hasn't even completed the catch and is still in front of the second hash mark which proves it was a forward pass.
 
watch again, and watch where the ball actually is when he releases it and watch the way he throws it.

---------- Post added at 01:36 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:35 PM ----------



my lines were not crooked, the angle is different in the different images which you guys fail to notice.

reet-triple-facepalm.jpg
 
:lol2: You are wrong.
2vafpdi-1.jpg


Notice how your line starts behind the second hash mark at the bottom of the picture (which is where Ben released the ball) BUT your line magically moves in front of the second hash mark that is on the top of the screen. Your line is not even close to being straight. You can even look at the 35 yardline and see the difference in space between your line grow from the top of the screen to the bottom.

Plus in your picture Brown hasn't even completed the catch and is still in front of the second hash mark which proves it was a forward pass.

haha this is pretty funny because I didn't look closely at the line upon first glance. You can see a clear hump in the line right at the ball. I think we just got trolled...well played nyjunc
 
haha this is pretty funny because I didn't look closely at the line upon first glance. You can see a clear hump in the line right at the ball. I think we just got trolled...well played nyjunc

the lines are approximate, it shows how close the play was. There is no what a replay could overturn it no matter what the call.
 
the lines are approximate, it shows how close the play was. There is no what a replay could overturn it no matter what the call.

I actually agree that it was closer than some suggest. I still think it was a forward pass but it was close enough to go either way IMO. I don't think one can say definitively whether or not it would have been overturned. I still find humor in the fact this crooked line was presented as the smoking gun.
 
I actually agree that it was closer than some suggest. I still think it was a forward pass but it was close enough to go either way IMO. I don't think one can say definitively whether or not it would have been overturned. I still find humor in the fact this crooked line was presented as the smoking gun.

That was actual unintentional and it is a miniscule difference.

The point all along was it was too close to say one way or the other. if called legal there's no way they could overturn and if called illegal there was no way they could overturn.
 
That was actual unintentional and it is a miniscule difference.

The point all along was it was too close to say one way or the other. if called legal there's no way they could overturn and if called illegal there was no way they could overturn.

I'm not disagreeing that it could have gone either way. I think it was close and anytime a replay is could go either way. I don't think anyone thought the Cincy replay was close and look how that call turned out.
 
Back
Top Bottom