Once and for all, IT WAS A FORWARD PASS! | Page 7 | FinHeaven - Miami Dolphins Forums

Once and for all, IT WAS A FORWARD PASS!

Well Coyle just came out and said they weren't set at the line prior to that play starting. So that, coupled with the obvious forward pass should be enough to shut up the haters in this thread. Probably being too optimistic in that regard however...

It doesn't matter what Coyle thinks about the players being set or not. The refs did not throw the flag, they let the players play in that instance so if brown doesn't step out we would have lost.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk 2
 
you don't call a timeout there...you just sacked the qb the clocks ticking down you don't want to give them time to set it up...you play it like we did...you just do a better job shutting it down when they go to it...

our clock management late in that game on offense running 3 straight times was correct and so was the way they let the clock run for the final play...hell i dont think one of those wrs maybe it was #88 i saw who wasn'tset for a full second before the snap could have called a penalty for that and game over after the 10 second run off...

now the decision to kick a fg at the end of the half instead of go for it on 4th down was a terrible one...worst decision philbins made clock management since he got here...you go for that all day long

Yes, you do call a TO if your D is NOT READY for the play -- here's why: The offense only has time for one play either way.

The only difference a TO makes is that your D will be ready. Offense still only gets one play, except this time, the offense does not have the advantage.

LD
 
Yes, you do call a TO if your D is NOT READY for the play -- here's why: The offense only has time for one play either way.

The only difference a TO makes is that your D will be ready. Offense still only gets one play, except this time, the offense does not have the advantage.

LD

had it been on a clock stoppage play yes you do but not off a freaking sack where the o is scrambling to even get set legally to get a snap off...no you don't...
 
had it been on a clock stoppage play yes you do but not off a freaking sack where the o is scrambling to even get set legally to get a snap off...no you don't...

In general terms, you are right. But in the specifics of what happened yesterday with a completely unprepared D, you simply have to call a TO.

Otherwise you get what happened: A D caught flat-footed for a play that everyone knew was coming -- and only survived on blind luck.

LD
 
Yes, you do call a TO if your D is NOT READY for the play -- here's why: The offense only has time for one play either way.

The only difference a TO makes is that your D will be ready. Offense still only gets one play, except this time, the offense does not have the advantage.

LD
nope, you let the clock run out which it did watch the tape. steelers weren't set for the snap. the play was illegal
 
Yes, you do call a TO if your D is NOT READY for the play -- here's why: The offense only has time for one play either way.

The only difference a TO makes is that your D will be ready. Offense still only gets one play, except this time, the offense does not have the advantage.
LD

I believe the thinking there was if you don't call timeout they don't even get the play off. As it turns out they didn't even get set, it just wasn't called. If Philbin calls timeout there and Ben throws a bomb for a TD we'd all be blasting him for calling timeout and giving them an "extra" play.
 
nope, you let the clock run out which it did watch the tape. steelers weren't set for the snap. the play was illegal

The refs made it legal by not calling it.

Hence: My point.

You can't count on honest officials or luck. You have to take care of your own responsibility on D.

Watch it multiple times on NFL GameRewind. 100 percent sure.

LD

---------- Post added at 03:11 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:10 PM ----------

I believe the thinking there was if you don't call timeout they don't even get the play off. As it turns out they didn't even get set, it just wasn't called. If Philbin calls timeout there and Ben throws a bomb for a TD we'd all be blasting him for calling timeout and giving them an "extra" play.

Ben throwing a bomb would have been the best case scenario. Throwing a bomb that comes down on the 20 yard line: perfect.

For a prepared D, that is.

LD
 
In general terms, you are right. But in the specifics of what happened yesterday with a completely unprepared D, you simply have to call a TO.

Otherwise you get what happened: A D caught flat-footed for a play that everyone knew was coming -- and only survived on blind luck.

LD

well had you got beat on it it's easy to say but they would have gone under the hood and looked at that lateral anyways...which was forward...again though with these officials they may have took the easy way out and said call stands and we would have lost...

players got to play that scenario better period...our d guys have to not allow that to go down...and the last thing i'm doing off a sack is giving them a free stoppage and play
 
well had you got beat on it it's easy to say but they would have gone under the hood and looked at that lateral anyways...which was forward...again though with these officials they may have took the easy way out and said call stands and we would have lost...

players got to play that scenario better period...our d guys have to not allow that to go down...and the last thing i'm doing off a sack is giving them a free stoppage and play

I absolutely do not trust the officials, even on replay.

For them not to call 1. The offensive movement penalty and 2. the forward lateral on the field -- no way in heck were they gonna overturn unless the forward lateral was like ten yards forward.

Look at what happened last time Steelers and Miami played -- 100 percent screwed by officials even after replay. It's astounding.

No way the officials would have overturned -- had he not stepped out of bounds. Pure luck.

LD
 
1417hfq-1.jpg

Talk about your uninforced capricious and/or discretionary penalties - IMO we should have been given the chance for a present 8-5 record OR the jest should have been given the chance to be 5-8

Officials missed field-goal push call in Ravens-Dolphins game
Posted by Mike Florio on October 22, 2013, 10:32 AM EST
Ravens AP

Given Sunday’s game between the Patriots and the Jets, everybody knows about Rule 9, Article 1, Section 3(2)(b) of the rulebook.

Before that, not many people did. Including game officials, apparently.

As explained by Albert Breer of NFL Network, the Ravens violated the rule against pushing players on the line of scrimmage in field-goal formation during a late 57-yard try from the Dolphins. The kick, if successful, would have tied the game. The kick, if it had come 15 yards closer after the flag that wasn’t thrown, may have been good.

Per Breer, the Dolphins gave the tape to the NFL, and the league conceded (privately) that the call was missed.

A review of the coaches film available via the NFL’s Game Rewind service conducted by PFT (that sounds so official) shows that Chris Canty was lined up between, but slightly behind, Arthur Jones and Haloti Ngata. After the snap, Canty got behind Jones and pushed.
 
had it been on a clock stoppage play yes you do but not off a freaking sack where the o is scrambling to even get set legally to get a snap off...no you don't...

I went back and looked at that sack trying to determine where the ball came loose.

It could have been a fumble but I couldn't tell for sure.

LD
 
The refs made it legal by not calling it.

The coaches are supposed to know that ahead of time, how? Why are you blaming the coaches, it's the players who should get themselves ready and play to the damn whistle even if the refs blow obvious calls. Well, the coaches should also have the players READY to do that, but calling a timeout there would be stupid, the game should have ended without that last play.
 
it's definitely lucky when a guys got a two way go vs a chris clemons and he steps out of bounds...i will give you that...especially an athlete like antonio brown
 
except Ben's arm goes around him, it appears he was slinging that ball and you can see it is going backward or on a straight line. It was incredibly close, it's one of those deals where if called good on the field theyt can't overturn or if called illegal on the field they can't overturn.

I agree it was close but I am confident that they would have had a lot more angles of the play that would show that it was a forward pass. Even with the clip we do have, it shows that.

ovhj-1.jpg


When Ben releases the ball, it is behind the second hash mark.

edn3-1.jpg


When Brown catches that ball, he is clearly ahead of the second hash mark.
 
I agree it was close but I am confident that they would have had a lot more angles of the play that would show that it was a forward pass. Even with the clip we do have, it shows that.

ovhj-1.jpg


When Ben releases the ball, it is behind the second hash mark.

edn3-1.jpg


When Brown catches that ball, he is clearly ahead of the second hash mark.

what you have to worry about with officials though is them looking at that and saying that angle is not straight on the play as in right down the line...so it could be viewed as a judgment call...and i've seen enough bad ones of those to feelthey would blow this one also...especially if it means overriding their own officials to get it right...

forward lateral though all the way...dont care what angle they have it' s obvious
 
Back
Top Bottom