Officials missed field-goal push call in Ravens-Dolphins game
Posted by Mike Florio on October 22, 2013, 10:32 AM EST
Ravens AP
Given Sunday’s game between the Patriots and the Jets, everybody knows about Rule 9, Article 1, Section 3(2)(b) of the rulebook.
Before that, not many people did. Including game officials, apparently.
As explained by Albert Breer of NFL Network, the Ravens violated the rule against pushing players on the line of scrimmage in field-goal formation during a late 57-yard try from the Dolphins. The kick, if successful, would have tied the game. The kick, if it had come 15 yards closer after the flag that wasn’t thrown, may have been good.
Per Breer, the Dolphins gave the tape to the NFL, and the league conceded (privately) that the call was missed.
A review of the coaches film available via the NFL’s Game Rewind service conducted by PFT (that sounds so official) shows that Chris Canty was lined up between, but slightly behind, Arthur Jones and Haloti Ngata. After the snap, Canty got behind Jones and pushed.